The Failed Love Affair

 

“Hey Darling!”

“Hi Sweetheart! What are you doing up at this time of the night?”

“What are you saying baby, it’s just 12.30 a.m. The night is still young.”

“Oh is that so now. Well guess what, my mehandi still hasn’t dried off and I’m messing my phone all up with the stains.”

“Aww! I’m sorry to cause this trouble baby.”

“Well I have the phone stick to type with so that’s half the trouble less. Anyway, I’m so tensed about tomorrow. Marriage is not an easy thing, everyone says so”

“Hey! I will always have your back every step of the way. You know I love you right”

“Of course I do and I love you more. I was thinking about our cute dates in school and it makes me want to freeze the time there. Sigh, I wish we hadn’t grown up.”

“Baby, we all grow up and no matter how we desire time cannot be turned. But at least we had those days to reminiscence over when we grow old and possibly senile 😉 .”

“Today was, I guess, our last coffee date as a single.”

“Yes, baby, that it was. From tomorrow you will have a new get up. Sindoor, Mekhala-sadar, the works eh?”

“That’s true and I hope I look good in it. Darling, will you always love me like this no matter what?”

“Hey, haven’t I always. You are the meaning of my life and have been ever since I first laid my eyes on you. Oh you looked so cute with that ponytail and our school uniform! I loved you then and I will love you just the same always.”

“I know that. I may have made many mistakes but you never stopped loving me. Your love has what brought me to this day. I would never have had the guts to get married if it wasn’t for your encouragement and love. The days of our sweet past slipped right through our fingers like sand and I’m holding on to the last few grains now. Tomorrow will be a different chapter in our lives. I am so happy we had those wonderful times in our lives. And even though we never even kissed our love was fulfilled to last several lifetimes, don’t you think?”

“I agree darling. True love does not need lust to be fulfilled; it is just sweet nectar along an already sweet road. I can just look into your eyes and spend an entire lifetime without ever even touching your hand.”

“You have given me all that I desired and more my love. I know marriage is a big step and I will be true to it and I am ready now to face it.”

“I know you will darling, I know. You are a wonderful human being and you will prove to the world that you will make a good wife and when time comes mother as well. But now I think its time for you to go to bed. You definitely don’t want puffy eyes with that bridal look do you?”

“Oh no, I definitely don’t. Well I think its time to say goodnight then.”

“Goodbye baby. I love you.”

“Goodbye darling. I love you too.”

Anisha turned off her phone and looked at herself in the mirror. Her face was tearstained. She has said her last goodbye to the one person she has ever loved and tomorrow when she marries Abhinash she will have washed away the last few grains of their love from her hands but just like her Mehandi the colour it left behind in her life will forever give her a reason to smile.

 Kushal looked at her Wattsapp DP for a long time before deleting the contact from his mobile. A few hours and his Anisha will be Mrs. Abhinash. Yes, he was happy for her and yes, he was also sad for their dying relationship. He knew that their lives were always headed towards different directions and there was nothing he could do about it. He closed his eyes and a single tear fell from his cheek as he asked, ”Why oh Lord, did you give me something I loved so much only to never really give it to me?” He then got onto bed looked at his sleeping wife, kissed her on the forehead and closed his eyes.

 And somewhere an Angel smiled for It knew that a lifetime was too short for Anisha and Kushal. They had a paradise of everafter waiting for them.

 

Author: sabrina_aziz

Everything is better with some wine in the belly.

2 thoughts on “The Failed Love Affair”

Leave a Reply

